The NHL announces the three Selke Finalists

April 19, 2017 - 3:44 pm

(WGR 550) - The NHL has announced its three finalists for the Selke Trophy which is for the best defensive forward.

Patrice Bergeron of the Bruins led the NHL taking over 18-hundred faceoffs. He won over 60 percent which was 3rd in the NHL. Bergeron is a three time Selke winner.

Ryan Kesler of the Ducks won the award in 2011. He led the NHL in shifts per game with 27.5 and was 6th in blocked shots. Many consider Kesler as the best two way forward in the game.

Wild captain Mikko Koivu has never even been a finalist before. He’s the franchise’s all-time leader in shorthanded points with 22.

Two Sabres have won this award in Michael Peca and Craig Ramsay.

Comments ()